It’s all about ME!

Posted: December 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

As the title says, it’s all about me today! Today is my birthday and I am nw officially legal in every state and country in the world (I’m also birthday mates with the lovely Britney Spears)!

Yay me!

I asked a couple of friends to write something for me for my birthday so I could make a post out of it. Say whatever you like, no one, shall spoil my day. ^_^

Now on to the washing ….

This one is from my darling Dayo, the love of my life.

My dearest Deola,

I’ve met a lot of people, interacted and had many relationships, yet, I could say that it would be hard to find anyone I would call your better. I don’t know anyone who accepts her flaws and works so hard at self-improvement like you do. You do not pretend to be better than everyone else, and even downplay your talents. Your humility continuously humbles me. You have been through a lot in life, and while those events scarred you, they’ve made you a very strong person. Since you endured all that you did, and still persevere, there’s nothing you can’t handle. I’m absolutely confident about that.

As you turn 21, you have no further excuse to hold on to childhood and/or immaturity. You’re a woman in every sense of the word, and you are truly ready for the world. I feel blessed to be able to say I know you, and I’m totally lucky to have had your love but even more, the world will be a better place with you in it my dear. Remember who you are, where you come from and what it took for you to get where you are right now. Be not influenced by others; rather, be the positive influence. There’s nothing you can’t do. No achievement is beyond your reach, no challenge is insurmountable my dear. You are not alone; I am with you, and will always be there as long as God wills it.

There is nothing I know of in this world that would suffice to adequately convey the depth of my feelings for you. I have nothing but the highest appreciation of who you are to me, and the import of how that affects my life. I truly cannot imagine my life without you in it. I couldn’t have made it this far without your support. Nobody knows, or understands me better than you, and no one else has such a way with me like you do. You inspire me to be a better person, to positively push my limits. You give me this instant peace of mind, like everything is surely going to be better just because you’re smiling. You bring out the very best in me. I owe you a lot, and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to totally repay you.

I guess I’m just trying to say that I’m glad I met you, and I will always love you.

Happy Birthday

Dayo

This one is from my best friend, my fruit sister, my crazy-white chick friend Coco

People suck. Really. And I’m not talking about the good kind of sucking with yogurt and maple syrup. No, the really annoying kind that make you go “beht why?”

I remember when I first started at AUN. One of my courses was a design class and our first assignment (that I recall) was a group one. I strongly disliked group assignments (I was already in one for an assignment in another course and my partners stunk on ice). More so, because we didn’t even get to pick our partners. So, I got stuck with the oldest guy in the class, and one Fausat who wasn’t even in class that day. Imagine my joy 😐

Anyhu, I did the assignment because I didn’t want to have to deal with my partners. And on the presentation day, as we were about to go into class, this chick walks up to me and goes “hi.” Of course I stared at the babe. How does someone look like a nerd and a goth chick at the same time? Anyways, that was Fausat. So, I briefed her on the presentation, and we did good ^_^

We weren’t friends or anything. I’d see her in class (when I was really paying attention), or around school sometimes. We’d say hi and move on. Sometimes, we’d sit and discuss the guys we were with. Eventually, we started fooling around with each other whenever we met on the road. We understood each other’s madness. We were cool like that. We still weren’t tight though. That came much later after an amazingly sad/hilarious/confusing series of events.

Sometimes, I just sit (or lie) and think, and I remember what we’ve been through together. Some stuff you wouldn’t even believe 😀

4:18 parties, club house food, game nights at cafe, charades, stupid boyfriends, family ish, doing course assignments last minute, fruit sisters, fights with ‘friends’ 😀 *sigh*

*cue violins*

There’s a lot of stuff I’ve gone through, and I can boldly say Deola is part of the reason I made it through. And that’s why she’s my friend. She inspires and encourages me all the time. Makes me laugh. Understands me. Gets all my attempts at humor ^_^

I don’t make a lot of friends. I’m really very antisocial. But Adeola Fausat Labake Adebiyi, I’ve come to realize, is a truly amazing person. Of course, she has her shortcomings, but who doesn’t. What we have has stood the test of time. Personally, I’m amazed (and thrilled) she’s still here. And I’m glad I didn’t just put you in my ‘weird people you should probably avoid’ box that first semester.

I love you sis, and I wish you the entire best, plus a lot more.  Happy birthday.

*cuts violins*

#np- Cheap Trick – I want you to want me. *air guitar*

This rap/poem is from my big-breasted love Fareeda

Brown-eyed Chaos

Pretty goth-kid with an extra-large ass…eeh

Yup, that’s what I thought the first time I saw you. I still can’t tell if I was close or far-off the mark.

Nevertheless, it’s been nothing short of comically surprising ever since I met you. This is for you Dee…

Pretty brown eyes, walks like a platypus.

The experience of an elder, the mischief of a naïve youth

An ass that inspires men to write about the treasures hidden in the Dark Continent

Beautiful, smart, talented and a freak to boot

You’re constantly pushing, never limiting giving a mental middle finger to life

Passionate, and did I mention a freak to boot?

Add more freakiness tinged with the slightest ounce of remorse for whatever she does

No hear, don’t care, that’s the kinda girl you are

Future money maker, excellent booty-shaker

Before I end up sounding like a failed rap artist, I’ll end with this,

A brown-eyed combination of delightful chaos is what you are

I don’t want you any other way

Happy Birthday Dee

Love, Fareeda

Kelvin wrote this for me! Gosh I have foolish friends.

Its Deola’s birthday today, a lot of nice things will be said about her and bla bla bla. You know, birthdays are just opportunities for people to suck up to you and get in your good books. If you’re having a party, they gats behave so they can feature. I’m not gonna pretend on here and begin to wash Deola and shit. Omo and Ariel aren’t easy to come by this period and I’m tryna save up for the Christmas period.

So Deola hits me up and asks that I write something about her cos it’s her birthday. Now if that’s not love of self, I don’t know what is. I mean she was literally saying “I want you to wash me on my blog” She sugar coated it though, saying “write anything, good or bad” Of course how many people will write bad? ME!!! I really wish I could tell you guys about how Deola has such a healthy *coughs* appetite for “shawarma” *please note that shawarma as used in this context can refer to anything that goes into the mouth*

Deola also has a certain weakness for Ice cream, so guys if you wanna set that P and you’re thinking  of how to slip a ‘knock you out’ pill, her ice cream will be a good place to put it. For those of you who haven’t seen her, Deola is quite loaDDed, so you’ve gotta be able to deal with that. Oh! The babe and vodka, that’s another relationship right thurr.. I marvel at her drink-ability. *shudders* Oh yeah, a part of me thinks Dee (as WE call her, that’s me famzing) also has a thing for ladies…

At this point, I’m just gonna shut up before i cause a ruckus up in hurr..

Happy Birthday Dee..  may your days get brighter and may Joy colour your world. Shit! 312 words.

Victor, my fake husband, wrote this for me

Deola Adebiyi is one of the coolest people I know, no jokes. I met her for the first time about six months ago and we hit it off like we’d known each other for ages. Apart from the usual stuff that people would notice first about her like her amazing smile that light up a room and bring life to a frozen heart; her banging body (that can bring life to another body part); & her fabulous sense of style there’s something else that got me totally smitten. It’s her warmth.

Deola is a happy child. I say this with all sincerity. She can literally brighten up your day when she’s on a roll. She talks a mile a minute, totally honest and always looks on the bright side. One of those people you hate ‘cos you think their life is all shiny and perfect hence their optimism. As I got to know her I realise that it wasn’t ‘cos she lived a charmed life but ‘cos she chooses to be happy in spite of the shitty world we live in.

I admire her strength, her brilliant mind, her willingness to learn, her hardworking nature and her cheerful nature.

So today, I’d like to say happy birthday to a truly happy child. God bless you Deola. May all your dreams come true, you of all people deserve it. 😀

This message was not sponsored by IGNIS washing machines & persil.

This one is by Bankole 

She’d do too much for herself and for everyone else that does too little.
I asked her why and she didn’t seem like she knew the reason, all that was apparent was that in doing she finds joy.

I began to admire her because, for a while, doing had not been so exciting for me, not because I couldn’t do but because I wouldn’t

For doing for myself, and maybe for others too had become a tasking chore, much like taking a bath on a day when the light from the sun hurts your eyes and you would rather hide under a rock and suck your thumb.

She inspires me because she does.

Because she does, what should be difficult … As if it were not.

And if you know her, you would know that’s what’s great about her.

Happy birthday Dee,

Because you do!

Last but not the least, Wole wrote a sweet but beautiful poem for me

A poem for you.

This is a poem for you

It’s a sort of birthday dress, brand new

Woven from the silk of Dreams come true

Dyed with Hope and Success in all you do

The forest of Kindness I went through

And carved its buttons from the tree where Love grew

They hold it together perfectly.

They would, I knew

Just as true Love will find and hold you together too.

The hem is a never-ending

Smile you can always renew

Theres a design on the back, I drew

It looks like a string on careful view

Such as those spun by the Fates whom the greeks appealed to

Clotho, Atropos and Lachesis too

Whom even the gods could not subdue

This string, as it refers to Life for you

May it not be cut before its time is due

Happy Birthday.

 

*Update!!! Toxic made  a picture for me!!!!!*

I'm a foine gyal!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you all for all the calls, mentions on twitter, text messages and just being there for me. I really love you all. God bless you the same way you have prayed for him to bless me. 

Bye Guys!

Comments
  1. coolprincee says:

    This is really long…lemme read it 🙂

  2. coolprincee says:

    Oh.. happy Birthday…not you i mean @BritneySpears 🙂

    so now u’re legal, go hav some fun… Do something illegal 😉

  3. ibetapassmynebo says:

    Happy birthday dearie
    Wishing you everything Good suga spice chemical X
    God bless you
    Long life dear! 🙂

  4. GenesisMyNameIz says:

    My Last is inhumanely Spine Pulverising. It took a Blog post mention for me to know one of the very few. Virtual Doppelgangers I have was born like on this very day, 21 years ago 😦 … But in the end, after all’s been said and done? It’s the passion for Bread and Akara and that Big Ass bottle of Big Coke that truly matters 😀 *Re-reads last sentence* , *Shakes head sadly while Pointing at empty Alomo bottles littered on rug* Happy Birthday Wealth’s Crown. HEICH BEE FUGGING DEE! EL EL EN PEE! J’espère que vous avez le temps de votre vie 😀 Dammy Out

Leave a Reply

