Out with the old and in with the new

Posted: January 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

Hello everybody.

First of all, I have to apologize for not posting anything here since last year. There is no sensible excuse for it. I was busy in school then when I came home, my old laptop was stolen. December and January have just not been my months honestly but now it’s all about to change.

People that know me well and even just ‘know me’ will know that I am very interested in fashion. I’ve been interested in fashion ever since I was small and I was restricted in Saudi Arabia from wearing what I wanted to wear. Since I can’t draw a design to save my life, I decided I wanted to study and write about fashion. Nigeria doesn’t have any ‘fashion studies’ course that I know of or ‘fashion journalism’ degree so I settled for just journalism in AUN. Hopefully, this year I will receive an email telling me I’ve been admitted to my dream school, NYU or Southampton Solent University. In the meantime, I got myself busy with learning whatever I could from blogs, websites, TV and even interning at Bella Naija. Creating my own fashion and lifestyle magazine with my friend Michi helped me realize what I wanted to do was not easy but I can defiantly do it.

2012, I promised myself I would leave a mark, no matter how small or insignificant is it. And I believe I have found my way of doing that.

On Wednesday, January 11, 2012 at exactly 5:11pm, I bought a domain name. My father was wondering why I was in tears but he gradually understood when I explained what wanted to do. He didn’t know much about it but from what he heard me say, he was confident I could do whatever it takes to make it work.

You all are wondering what it is right? Well …

Introducing to you all ‘Omoge MuRa’ (its Yoruba and it means ‘young lady dress up’). It’s a joint project I’m embarking on with Edwin (@EdGothBoy my PTS member and fellow fashion lover). Omoge MuRa is just not any other fashion and lifestyle website. It’s more of a blog with passion and personality. We bring you the latest in fashion news, trends, style tips, new collections, campaigns and editorials, plus how fashion affects your lifestyle and its influence in the music of today.  We are not going to be showing news from an ‘African’ point of view but as citizens of the world. So expect fashion related news and such from all over the world and Africa as well.

I know all the people you come here are not fashion freaks as me and Edwin are but I ask you to spread the word of ‘Omoge MuRa’ to all your fashion lover friends out there. We need as much promotion we can get and you all can help me out there.

With this however, comes the close of another phase in my life, twiddlemedee.

I’m not sure if I’m going to shut it down or just ‘let it be’. It doesn’t mean I will stop writing. The problem is that my new venture will take so much out of me and I don’t want to write and deliver mediocre pieces to you all. You all deserve the best out of me and I do not want to deliver less than the best. I will still write though and post them on other blogs. My posts on PTS will still continue and if other people want me to work and write on projects with them, I am all in.

Again, I’m in tears and awe because I know what I am about to embark on is not a small thing. One day, I want to be the editor-in-chief of Vogue Nigeria (yes, one day we will get there). A journey of a thousand miles start with a step and me setting up ‘Omoge MuRa’ is that step.

Thank you and I hope to see you all in the comment sections of the posts of ‘Omoge MuRa’. 🙂

Comments
  1. terdoh says:

    Please don’t delete Twiddle Me Dee. Please. Just let it be.

    Congratulations on the new site though!

  2. @sirkastiq says:

    *sniff sniff*

  3. TheGreyGenesis says:

    Oh Wow. May God go with you and your new Hustle. Don’t erase Twiddle Me Dee Biko. Trust me when I say this. Someday, you’ll need to re-read your Past. To gain strength. For your Present. ( ._. ) … There’s some Experienced Pragmatic sense somewhere amongst the jumble I just typed. Let me read it again. I somehow lost myself 😀

  4. 0latoxic says:

    *bawling my eyes out*

    Noooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. weird_oo says:

    Best of luck!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

